About me

In a manner of 2 weeks, I packed up all my family’s belongings into a moving truck, left my corporate job of 11 years and relocated from the North to the South.

Me and my Canon RebelI guess you could say this blog is my reflections on these transitions.  And advice that the ex-corporate me would have given to the home-all-the-time-me about how to be happy in my “job” and to the facing-major-life-challenges-me about dealing with how to cope with change – and help my family handle the transitions. (And knowing all the while that my 8 and 4 year olds are already more adjusted with the change than I ever will be.

So, how did I get here?

THEN:  By day, I was an Assistant Vice President for a large bank.  For much of my career, I was an internal consultant of sorts on change management and employee engagement.  I led projects and influenced without authority.  I worked only 3 days a week.  By night, I picked up toys, cooked dinner, did the dishes, etc.  I felt like I had the best of both worlds – adult conversation and challenging work AND the opportunity to spend more time with my kids than I did at work.  But, I always felt pulled in too many directions.  I longed to be a stay at home mom.  I waited patiently (okay, not always so patiently) while my husband finished school.

NOW:  A few months ago, my husband graduated and got a job 11 hours from home.  This allowed me to finally be at home with my two fun-loving daughters.  It also meant that I moved from the Midwest to the South.  I am a Yankee in a foreign land.  I now consult with my kids to convince them reading and playing outside are more beneficial than watching TV.  Before, I influenced without authority.  Now, I have all the authority in the world, but sometimes lack influence.  Others rely on me to cook dinner, do laundry, drive them to school.  My world has practically turned upside down.  And I wouldn’t change it for the world.

But I think the knowledge I gained then, will be valuable to me in this phase of my life.  And hopefully good for you, too.

Leave a Reply

